Marshall’s Holliday Named Maxwell Coach Semifinalist

Special to HNN Provided by Herd Zone

PHILADELPHIA – Marshall Coach John “Doc” Holliday, whose Thundering Herd is one of two remaining unbeaten teams in major college football, was named Wednesday as a semifinalist for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award.


The Maxwell Coach of the Year semifinalist list includes 20 coaches.


The fifth-year Marshall coach has guided his 2014 team to a 10-0 start (6-0 Conference USA) and a second straight C-USA East Division championship. The Herd, ranked No. 18 nationally (Associated Press and Amway Coaches polls), is coming off a 10-4 season in 2013, including a Military Bowl victory over Maryland.


Holliday’s team, which leads the FBS in average scoring margin (30.8 points per game) also is the top Group of Five team in the weekly College football Computer Composite, compiled by USA Today.


Marshall has won 16 of its last 17 games. Holliday’s program also is known for winning when it counts most, in late-season games. Over his five seasons, Marshall is 18-5 in games played after Oct. 29. His career record is 37-24.


Holliday is one of four Group of Five school coaches on the list, joined by Troy Calhoun of Air Force, P.J. Fleck of Western Michigan and Jim McElwain of Colorado State.


The Herd owns an 11-game winning streak (second only to fellow unbeaten Florida State’s 25 games), and a 13-game home winning streak at Edwards Stadium (trails only 14-game runs by Baylor and Alabama). Marshall and Baylor are the only FBS teams averaging more than 525 yards total offense and holding opponents to less than 325 yards per game (total defense).


Last month, Holliday was named as one of 20 coaches to the watch list for the Paul Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award presented by the American Heart Association.


Semifinalist voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin Thursday (Nov. 20) and close Dec. 8. The finalist round will include the top three coaches, as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will run Dec. 10-21. The winner will be announced Dec. 22.


Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media. Duke’s David Cutcliffe was the 2013 Maxwell Coach of the Year recipient.

Comments powered by Disqus