Herd’s Selby Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

Special to HNN Provided by Herd Zone

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Marshall junior center Michael Selby, who is making a big move on the Thundering Herd offensive line for the 2015 season, was named today to the Rimington Trophy Watch List.


The Rimington is presented annually to the nation’s outstanding center in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). The award is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Selby is among 63 names on the watch list.


Selby is expected to make his first career start at center when the Herd opens the 2015 season on Sept. 6 against Purdue at Joan C. Edwards Stadium. Selby is moving from right guard, where he started all 14 games last season, helping Coach Doc Holliday’s team to a 13-1 record, a Conference USA title and a final national ranking (No. 22/23).


Selby has been a mainstay on the Herd offensive front for his two seasons at guard with the Herd. A 6-foot-2, 276-pounder from Sandersville, Ga., Selby has played in 27 games for one of the nation’s top offenses.


At center, he follows two-time All-C-USA first team selection Chris Jasperse, a past Rimington candidate who is now a rookie with the NFL’s Cincinnati Bengals. Jasperse started every game (53) in his Herd career, finishing with 4,040 snaps.


Selby has been part of an offensive line that has brought Marshall to the most improved rushing offense over the past two seasons. In 2012, the Herd averaged 4.23 yards per carry. In Selby’s two seasons in the program, that average has increased to 5.05 in 2013 and 6.81 last season. That 2.58-yard improvement is tops in major college football over that span.


With Selby in the starting lineup up front, the Herd averaged 559.2 yards total offense last season – ranking second nationally to Baylor (581.5). Marshall ranked No. 8 in rushing offense and No. 18 in passing, and was the only offense to rank in the top 20 in both categories besides College Football Playoff finalist Oregon.


Selby was voted to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team in 2013. He is one of seven C-USA centers on the 2015 Rimington Watch List.


Auburn’s Reese Dismukes won the 2014 Rimington Trophy.


The award was established for the 2000 football season. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis, has raised over $115 million for CF Research.


Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus All-America first team center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.


The Rimington finalists for 2015 will be announced on Dec. 7. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Tococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 16, 2016.

Comments powered by Disqus