Herd Tops All-Conference USA Football Selections

Special to HNN Provided by Herd Zone

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Marshall placed a league-best six players on the 2015 All-Conference USA Preseason Football Team, which was announced today from the C-USA office in Irving, Texas.


The 34-player team was selected by the league’s 13 football coaches.


The six selections for Coach Doc Holliday’s team included two each on offense, defense and special teams. Marshall is coming off a nationally ranked finish to a 13-1 season and is the defending C-USA champion.


The Herd selections were running back Devon Johnson and right tackle Clint Van Horn on offense, nose tackle Jarquez Samuel and strongside linebacker D.J. Hunter on defense, and punter Tyler Williams and long snapper Matt Cincotta on special teams.


All six are 2015 seniors.


Johnson, Van Horn, Williams and Cincotta were among the Herd’s league-record 10 All-C-USA first team selections for the 2014 season last December.


Following the Herd’s six selections were five for FIU and four each for Western Kentucky and Louisiana Tech. Middle Tennessee and UTSA had three selections apiece. Twelve of the 13 C-USA football schools placed players on the Preseason Team. League football newcomer Charlotte did not have a selection.


Western Kentucky quarterback Brandon Doughty was named the Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, while the Defensive Player of the Year honor went to FIU cornerback Richard Leonard. UTEP kick returner Autrey Golden was chosen as Special Teams Player of the Year.


For a complete list of preseason selections, visit www.conferenceusa.com.


The C-USA Preseason Poll – voted by selected media covering the league – will be announced Wednesday.