Special to HNN Provided by Herd Zone
HUNTINGTON, W.Va. - The Marshall football team (9-3) will return to Tropicana Field to face Connecticut Huskies (6-6) in the St. Petersburg Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 26, the Conference USA office announced Sunday afternoon. The game, which will be televised on ESPN and broadcast ESPN Radio, starts at 11 a.m.

This is the eighth year of the St. Petersburg Bowl, which saw the Thundering Herd emerge victorious with a 20-10 triumph over now-Conference USA member FIU in 2011.

With a victory, Marshall would become the only Group of 5 school with 10-plus wins in each of the past three seasons and would join the likes of Alabama, Baylor, Clemson, Florida State, Michigan State, Ohio State and Oregon in doing so.

St. Petersburg Bowl tickets can be purchased online through HerdZone.com immediately. Tickets can then be purchased by phone beginning Monday at 8:30 a.m. Marshall fans can use their online account to purchase tickets. Tickets ordered prior to end of business day on Wednesday will be allocated in Big Green Scholarship Foundation priority point order. All tickets purchased after that date will be allocated on a first come, first served basis. When ordering bowl game tickets through Marshall athletics, Big Green members will earn a priority point.

UConn second-year coach Bob Diaco has led the Huskies to their first bowl appearance since the 2010 season when they earned a BCS bid to the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl. The Huskies, of the American Athletic Conference, went 3-1 over their last four games and became bowl-eligible with their win over Houston, which grabbed the Group of 5's coveted "New Year's Six" spot and will play Florida State in the Peach Bowl.

"Marshall Athletics is overjoyed to return to Florida for the St. Petersburg Bowl," MU Director of Athletics Mike Hamrick said. "Our bowl trips to Florida to have been successful for recruiting and a treat for the alumni in the area. We look for that to continue and are ready to get down there."

Stay tuned to HerdZone.com and to Marshall's social media outlets (Facebook: Marshall Thundering Herd, Twitter: @HerdZone, @HerdFB, @TheHerdAD) for further information.

Marshall Bowl History

Season Bowl (site)                                                       Score                                                   Marshall MVP

1947     Tangerine Bowl (Orlando, Fla.)                            Catawba 7, Marshall 0                             Don Gibson, E

1997     Motor City Bowl (Detroit)                                     Ole Miss 34, Marshall 31                          B.J. Cohen, DE

1998     Motor City Bowl (Detroit)                                     Marshall 48, Louisville 29                        Chad Pennington, QB

1999     Motor City Bowl (Detroit)                                     Marshall 21, BYU 3                                 Doug Chapman, RB

2000     Motor City Bowl (Detroit)                                     Marshall 25, Cincinnati 14                        Byron Leftwich, QB

2001     GMAC Bowl (Mobile, Ala.)                                    Marshall 64, East Carolina 61, 2OT           Byron Leftwich, QB

2002     GMAC Bowl (Mobile, Ala.)                                    Marshall 38, Louisville 15                        Byron Leftwich, QB

2004     Fort Worth Bowl (Fort Worth, Texas)                    Cincinnati 32, Marshall 14                        None selected

2009     Little Caesars Pizza Bowl (Detroit)                        Marshall 21, Ohio 17                               Martin Ward, RB

2011     Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl (St. Petersburg, Fla.)          Marshall 20, FIU 10                                 Aaron Dobson, WR

2013     Military Bowl (Annapolis, Md.)                              Marshall 31, Maryland 20                        Rakeem Cato, QB

2014     Boca Raton (Fla.) Bowl                                        Marshall 52, Northern Ill. 23                    Rakeem Cato, QB