Herd Football Gets 16 All-Conference USA Selections

Updated 3 years ago Special to HNN Provided by Herd Zone
IRVING, Texas – Three Marshall seniors – left guard Sebastian Johansson, linebacker Evan McKelvey and kick returner Deandre Reaves – were among 16 Thundering Herd selections for 2015 All-Conference USA and C-USA All-Freshman honors announced Tuesday by the league.

In voting by the 13 C-USA football coaches, the league selects first and second teams and honorable mention all-conference picks, to go with the All-Freshman squad.

Reaves also picked up punt returner honors on the second team, where he was joined by four Herd teammates – junior center Michael Selby, senior defensive tackle Jarquez Samuel, senior punter Tyler Williams and senior long snapper Matt Cincotta.

Sophomore tight end Ryan Yurachek was named an honorable mention selection, as was senior wide receiver Davonte Allen, junior defensive end Gary Thompson, senior linebacker D.J. Hunter, junior cornerback Corey Tindal and safeties Taj Letman and Tiquan Lang – a senior and junior, respectively.

Defensive end Ryan Bee was an All-Freshman selection.

The conference's seven major awards will be announced Wednesday. They are Most Valuable Player, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Special Teams Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Cincotta and Williams were also all-conference selections a year ago, while Hunter garnered honorable mention acclaim. Tindal  -- the C-USA co-Freshman of the year in 2013 -- has been an honorable mention all-league selection for three consecutive years and McKelvey was an honorable mention pick in 2013 before missing most of 2014 with his second major knee injury.

Marshall (9-3) is set to face Connecticut (6-6) in the St. Petersburg Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 26 at 11 a.m. ET. With a win, the Thundering Herd would become the only Group of Five program to register double-digit wins in each of the last three seasons.

The game will be broadcast on ESPN and ESPN Radio.


A look at Marshall's All-Conference USA football selections since the Thundering Herd joined the league in 2005:


2015 - (3) Sebastian Johansson, OL; Evan McKelvey, LB; Deandre Reaves, KR.

2014 - (10) Rakeem Cato, QB; Devon Johnson, RB; Chris Jasperse, OL; Clint Van Horn, OL; Tommy Shuler, WR; James Rouse, DL; Neville Hewitt, LB; Darryl Roberts, DB; Tyler Williams P; Matt Cincotta, LS.

2013 - (4) Chris Jasperse, OL; Gator Hoskins, TE; Tommy Shuler, WR; James Rouse, DT.

2012 - (2) Rakeem Cato, QB; Tommy Shuler, WR.

2011 - (2) Vinny Curry, DL; Omar Brown, DB.

2010 - (2) Vinny Curry, DL; Mario Harvey, LB.

2009 - (4) Cody Slate, TE; Mario Harvey, LB; Craig Ratanamorn, PK; Sean McClellan, LS.

2008 - (1) Albert McClellan, DL.

2007 - (1) Doug Legursky, OL.

2006 - (4) Ahmad Bradshaw, RB; Doug Legursky, OL; Albert McClellan, DL; Curtis Keyes, DB.

2005 - None.


2015 - (5) Michael Selby, OL; Jarquez Samuel, DL; Tyler Williams, P; Deandre Reaves, PR; Matt Cincotta, LS.

2014 - (2) Arnold Blackmon, DL; Jermaine Holmes, LB.

2013 - (5) Rakeem Cato, QB; Garrett Scott, OL; Clint Van Horn, OL; Jermaine Holmes, LB; Devon Smith, PR.

2012 - (3) Gator Hoskins, TE; Aaron Dobson, WR; Dominick LeGrande, DB.

2011 - None.

2010 - (2) Chad Schofield, OL; Lee Smith, TE.

2009 - (3) Darius Marshall, RB; Daniel Baldridge, OL; Albert McClellan, DL.

2008 - (5) Darius Marshall, RB; Brian Leggett, OL; Darius Passmore, WR; Maurice Kitchens, LB; C.J. Spillman, DB.

2007 - (2) Cody Slate, TE; C.J. Spillman, DB.

2006 - None.

2005 - (3) Ahmad Bradshaw, RB; Doug Legursky, OL; Chris Hawkins, DB.


2015 - (7) Ryan Yurachek, TE; Davonte Allen, WR; Gary Thompson, DL; D.J. Hunter, LB; Taj Letman, DB; Corey Tindal, DB; Tiquan Lang, DB.

2014 - (5) Eric Frohnapfel, TE; Ra'Shawde Myers, DL; D.J. Hunter, LB; Corey Tindal, DB; Tommy Shuler, PR.

2013 - (7) Essray Taliaferro, RB; Alex Bazzie, DL; Ra'Shawde Myers, DL; Evan McKelvey, LB; Monterius Lovett, DB; Darryl Roberts, DB; Corey Tindal, DB.

2012 - (8) Chris Jasperse, OL; Jordan Jeffries, OL; Alex Schooler, OL; Antavious Wilson, WR; Alex Bazzie, DL; Brandon Sparrow, DL; Okechukwu Okoroha, DB; Justin Haig, K.

2011 - (2) Ryan Tillman, OL; Aaron Dobson, WR.

2010 - (3) Aaron Dobson, WR; Donald Brown, DB; Omar Brown, DB.

2009 - (6) Chad Schofield, OL; Lee Smith, TE; Vinny Curry, DL; Michael Janac, DL; DeQuan Bembry, DB; Ashton Hall, DB.

2008 - (4) Cody Slate, TE; Michael Janac, DL; Mario Harvey, LB; Darius Marshall, KR.

2007 - (4) Bernard Morris, QB; Byron Tinker, DL; Maurice Kitchens, LB; Emmanuel Spann, PR.

2006 - (3) Cody Slate, TE; Matt Couch, LB; Josh Johnson, LB.

2005 - Third team chosen instead of honorable mention; no Marshall players on third team.


2015 - (1) Ryan Bee, DL.

2014 - (3) Ryan Yurachek, TE; Angelo Jean-Louis, WR; Antavis Rowe, DB.

2013 - (5) Michael Selby, OL; Gary Thompson, DL; Stefan Houston, LB; A.J. Leggett, DB; Corey Tindal, DB.

2012 - (4) Kevin Grooms, RB; Cameron Dees, OL; D.J. Hunter, LB; Tyler Williams, P.

2011 - (2) Travon Van, RB; Chris Jasperse, OL.

2010 - (1) Marques Aiken, DL.

2009 - (1) Antavious Wilson, WR.

2008 - (3) C.J. Wood, OL; DeQuan Bembry, DB; Tyler Warner, PK.

2007 - (2) Darius Marshall, RB; Josh Evans, OL.

2006 - (2) Cody Slate, TE; Zearrick Matthews, DB.

2005 - (2) Albert McClellan, DE; Marty Biagi, P.
Comments powered by Disqus