Marshall Honors Faculty with Distinguished Awards

Special to HNN Provided by Marshall University

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. (HNN) - Awards of distinction will be presented and retiring faculty recognized during Marshall University’s spring general faculty meeting Wednesday, April 27, at the Joan C. Edwards Performing Arts Center on the Huntington campus.

The meeting begins at 2 p.m. and will include remarks from Marshall President Stephen J. Kopp and Faculty Senate Chair Camilla Brammer.

Three people will receive the Distinguished Service Award and three will receive the Distinguished Artists and Scholars Award.

To qualify for Distinguished Service Awards, persons must have at least 20 years of service at Marshall University, a record of distinguished service to the university and/or college, and a record of distinguished teaching as evidenced by peer, administrative and/or student evaluations. The Distinguished Service Award winners, each of whom will receive $1,000, are:

  • Dr. Camilla Brammer, Communication Studies, College of Liberal Arts, 26 years of service

  • Dr. Barbara Guyer, Special Education, College of Education and Human Services, 36 years of service

  • Dr. Marcia Harrison-Pitaniello, Biological Sciences, College of Science, 25 years of service

To be eligible for the Distinguished Artists and Scholars Awards, faculty members must either be tenured or hold tenure-track appointments. The purpose of the award is to recognize distinction in the fields of artistic and scholarly activity on the part of the Marshall faculty. The senior recipients of the Distinguished Artists and Scholars Awards receive $2,000 apiece while the junior recipient receives $1,000. The Distinguished Artists and Scholars Award will be given to:


  • Dr. Rachael Peckham, English, assistant professor, junior recipient among all faculty

  • Dr. Thomas Wilson, Physics, professor, senior recipient in the field of Sciences and Technology

  • Dr. Richard Agesa, Finance/Economics, professor, senior recipient in the field of Arts, Social Sciences, Humanities, Education and Business

Two people will receive the John and Frances Rucker Graduate Advisor of the Year award, which acknowledges the contributions of Marshall’s outstanding graduate advisors. They are:


  • Dr. Michael Cunningham, professor, Leadership Studies, Graduate School of Education and Professional Development, from the South Charleston campus

  • Dr. Piyali Dasgupta, assistant professor, Department of Pharmacology, Physiology and Toxicology, School of Medicine, from the Huntington campus

The Sarah Denman Faces of Appalachia Fellowship Award, which includes a $3,000 award, is presented each year to one faculty member. This year’s recipient is:


  • Dr. Donna Sullivan, associate professor, Sociology


Marshall also is recognizing 14 retiring faculty who have a combined 401 years of service. They are:

  • Earline Allen, Art and Design, College of Fine Arts, 41 years of service

  • Dr. George Arthur, School of Education, College of Education and Human Services, 21 years of service

  • Dr. Sirous Arya, Surgery, School of Medicine, 10 years of service

  • Dr. Emmett (Noel) Bowling, Reading Education, MU Graduate College, 34 years of service

  • Kathy Chezik, Communication Disorders, College of Health Professions, 40 years of service

  • Joe Fuller, Engineering, College of Information Technology and Engineering, 31 years of service

  • Dr. Barbara Guyer, School of Education, College of Education and Human Services, 36 years of service

  • Dr. Sandra Marra, Nursing, College of Health Professions, 19 years of service

  • Dr. Michael Moore, Biochemistry and Microbiology, School of Medicine, 33 years of service

  • Dr. Leslie Petteys, Music, College of Fine Arts, 24 years of service

  • Dr. Gilbert Ratcliff Jr., Pediatrics, School of Medicine, 22 years of service

  • Dr. Maria-Carmen Riddel, Modern Languages, College of Liberal Arts, 29 years of service

  • Dr. Gary Saunders, Accountancy and Legal Environment, Lewis College of Business, 21 years of service

  • Dr. Joe Stone Jr., Accountancy and Legal Environment, Lewis College of Business, 40 years of service

Other faculty to be honored at the meeting, as announced yesterday, are:

  • Dr. Jamie Warner, professor, Political Science, Charles E. Hedrick Outstanding Faculty Award

  • Dan Hollis, associate professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communications, Marshall & Shirley Reynolds Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Dr. April Fugett-Fuller, assistant professor, Psychology; Dr. Maribea Barnes, assistant professor, Art and Design; Brent Patterson, assistant professor, Art and Design, Pickens-Queen Excellence in Teaching Award

A reception to honor the retiring and award-winning faculty will take place in the lobby of the Performing Arts Center after the meeting.

Comments powered by Disqus