Twenty New Faces Will Join WV Senate, Delegates

Updated 5 years ago From a Release by WV GOP
New WV Republican Faces at Statehouse
New WV Republican Faces at Statehouse

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Following a week of thanks to citizens and voters who put their trust in our candidates, the West Virginia Republican Party is ready to improve our state's business climate and protect our energy industries from Washington, D.C.

And now, we're ready to take action in Charleston. Twenty new State Senators and Delegates will head to the state capitol soon to do the people's work.

"It's truly remarkable what a few inspired people can do to change this state for the better," said West Virginia Republican Chair Conrad Lucas. "Now our party and our elected officials are far more than just passengers on this ship. We have a chance to stop the creeping of big government in this state."

West Virginia Republicans added eleven Delegates to their count in the House to get to 46, and three new State Senators. Add Del. Mitch Carmichael's win to hold a Republican seat in the Fourth Senate District and the statewide wins of Allen Loughry for Supreme Court and Patrick Morrisey as Attorney General........that means 23 new Republicans coming to Charleston. 

The composite photo above shows the new faces that will join existing Party leaders, with new members from all regions of our state.

We also welcome back experienced former legislators like Del. John Shott, Del. Cindy Frich and new State Senator Craig Blair.

"This is just the beginning," said Lucas. "We have earned the trust of much of this state at the ballot box. Now the real work begins to help improve the lives of every citizen of West Virginia."

  • Republicans have the largest number of elected legislators since 1928
  • Elected the first Republican Attorney General since 1928
  • There are two Republican Supreme Court Justices for the first time since 1976
  • West Virginians cast the most votes for Republicans in federal races in history
  • Counties represented by Republicans in the state legislature now include Boone, Mingo, McDowell and Wyoming.
Comments powered by Disqus