Mayoral Transition Team Meets Tuesday at City Hall

Updated 5 years ago by Tony Rutherford HuntingtonNews.Net Reporter
Mayor Elect Steve Williams
Mayor Elect Steve Williams

The first meeting of Mayor Elect Steve Williams transition team takes place today, Nov. 20 at 4 p.m. in Council Chambers at Huntington City Hall.

Calling the budget "the first priority," Williams told HNN that Brandi Jacobs-Jones , director of administration and finance, has already told  department heads "to proceed with developments of their budgets assuming zero growth." They have been asked to prioritize any increases requested over the current fiscal year. One of the  transition team's tasks will be understanding departmental budget priorities and consideration of written departmental policy issues.

The Mayor Elect anticipated that transition team chairman, judge Dan O'Hanlon, likely will divide the 14 member team into three or four work groups.

"Our  goal was to be elected, but it was more important to be prepared to govern. The breadth and diversity of this organization reflects the broad scope of that philosophy and the activity we are about to embrace," Williams said.

Anticipating immediately stepping to the plate on economic development proposals, Williams expects the team will "begin in earnest to strategize appropriate next steps."

The transition team includes:


Citizen Members

Judge Dan O’Hanlon, Chair (Retired Judge)

Kirk Dodrill, Vice Chair (Downtown business owner, entrepreneur)

Teresa Ball (Retired AFL-CIO Official)

Cathy Burns (Executive, Robert C. Byrd Institute for Advanced Flexible Manufacturing; Former City Development Director)

Richard Cobb (Former Civic Center Director, Community litter activist)

Courtney Proctor Cross (School Teacher; Community Activist – Urban forestry, Storm water management, Animal rights)

Carl Eastham (Retired Huntington Firefighter)

Ray Harrell, Jr., Student Body President, Marshall University

Sean Hornbuckle (Financial Strategist; Former Marshall University Student Body President)

Jim Insco (Insurance Agent, Member Huntington City Council)

Rene Maas, (Retired Hospital Administrator; Former Director of Huntington Main Street; Former Member, Huntington City Council)

Thomas McChesney (Local entrepreneur; Charter organizer, Create Huntington; Columnist)

Clint McElroy (Radio Personality, Local arts community leader, Adjunct Professor Marshall University)

Bishop Sam Moore (Retired Educator; Pastor Full Gospel Assembly, Bishop West Virginia and East Tennessee Council, District 23 of the Pentecostal Assemblies of the World)

Ex-Officio Member

The Honorable Mark Bates, Chairman Huntington City Council

Bates explained that he will not participate in the transition.

"My role is to convey information to sitting and incoming council members."

Comments powered by Disqus