Special to HNN From a Gov. Tomblin Press Statement

CHARLESTON, WV -Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin today filed a proclamation adjusting the statewide state of emergency declaration first issued due to severe weather, Oct. 29, 2012.

"After I surveyed the damage left behind from the winter storm and Hurricane Sandy first-hand, I knew our hardest hit communities would need additional time and assistance to restore everyday life. That's why today, nearly a month after high winds, large amounts of snowfall and fallen trees impacted the entire state, I continue to direct state and federal resources at my disposal to assist the most devastated areas with their recovery efforts," Gov. Tomblin said. "Other areas of the state have begun to return to life as normal and are now self-sustaining. It is my goal to restore everyday life to the entire state no later than Dec. 21st."

Today's declaration extends the state of emergency in the following 22 counties until Dec. 21, 2012: Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Grant, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Lewis, Marshall, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Webster and Wyoming. These counties will continue to receive state and federal help with debris removal and other needs.

The declaration rescinds the state of emergency previously issued for the following 33 counties: Berkeley, Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Doddridge, Gilmer, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Mingo, Monongalia, Monroe, Morgan, Ohio, Pleasants, Putnam, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wayne, Wetzel, Wirt, and Wood.

To view the proclamation in its entirety click here.

Comments powered by Disqus