Governor appoints two to Marshall University board of governors; new faculty, student representatives also to join board

Special to HNN Provided by Marshall University

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Marshall University’s board of governors will have four new members when it next meets on Tuesday, Aug. 9.

West Virginia Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has appointed Phyllis Arnold and David Haden, both of Charleston, to the board. Marty Amerikaner, a psychology professor, will join the board as faculty representative, and Ray Harrell Jr., the new student government association president, will be the student representative on the board.

Leaving the board are Gary Adkins, Brent Marsteller, faculty representative Larry Stickler and student representative Edward Pride IV.

Arnold is regional president for BB&T Corp. and Haden is owner of i-Source, LLC, an insurance agency in Charleston. Their terms end June 30, 2015.

“I am honored and excited about becoming part of the Marshall University board of governors,” Arnold said. “The experience of attending Marshall University to earn my MBA contributed greatly to my career and I view my years on the Marshall University Foundation Board and future service on the board of governors as opportunities to give back.

“Over the past six years Marshall has shown impressive growth in enrollment and curriculum development,” she said. “President (Stephen) Kopp’s leadership and working relationship with the board of governors has been pivotal to this success.”

Haden is a longtime follower and supporter of Marshall University.

“I look forward to the challenge,” he said. “I have a lot of years of practical knowledge of business and how Marshall is perceived in the community and the state.”

He, too, has observed Marshall’s improvements in recent years. He said the university has made  some “major strides,” and cited as examples the new engineering program, the building of the Robert C. Byrd Biotechnology Science Center and the hiring of a strong leader in the athletic department in Athletic Director Mike Hamrick.

“We’ve made quantum leaps in the last four or five years,” Haden said.

The four new board members will be sworn in at the Aug. 9 meeting, which will be conducted in the Memorial Student Center’s Shawkey Room on the Huntington campus.

The other 12 board members are Letitia Neese Chafin of Williamson; Oshel Craigo of Winfield; Michael J. Farrell of Huntington; Verna K. Gibson, chair, of Sarasota, Fla.; John G. Hess, vice chair, of Barboursville; Ed Howard of Phoenix, Ariz.; Dale Lowther of Parkersburg; Joseph McDonie of Milton; H.F. Mooney Jr., of Charleston; Michael G. Sellards of Huntington; Joseph Touma, secretary, of Huntington; and Mike Dunn, classified staff representative.

Comments powered by Disqus