Seven appointed to Marshall University Board of Governors

Updated 6 years ago Special to HNN Provided by Marshall University

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. - Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has appointed seven people, including three who are being reappointed, to serve on Marshall University's Board of Governors. The newest appointees are James Bailes of Huntington, Tim Dagostine of Charleston, Christie Kinsey of Lavalette and Phil Cline of Huntington. Bailes, Dagostine and Kinsey were appointed to three-year terms and Cline was appointed for four years.

Current board chair Joseph Touma of Huntington, along with Dale Lowther of Parkersburg and Edward Howard III of Scottsdale, Ariz., were reappointed by Tomblin. Touma's term is for three years, while the terms of Lowther and Howard are for four years.

"I'm pleased these men and women have accepted this opportunity to serve on the board of governors," Tomblin said. "Together, their knowledge, skills and expertise will help guide (Marshall University) and help ensure a brighter future for our young people."

All of the appointees will be sworn in at the board's next meeting, scheduled Tuesday, Aug. 27, in the Memorial Student Center's Shawkey Room on the Huntington campus. Leaving the board are Verna Gibson, John Hess, Letitia Neese Chafin and Michael Farrell.

"I extend our sincere appreciation to Verna, John, Tish and Mike for their outstanding service to the board," Marshall President Stephen J. Kopp said. "They have devoted considerable time and energy to serving on the board during this historic time at Marshall University, and they have been instrumental in the progress made here throughout recent years. At the same time, I am looking forward to working with the four new members. I believe Governor Tomblin has made four first-rate appointments."

Bailes is an attorney with Bailes, Craig and Yon, PLLC, in Huntington. He succeeds Chafin, who could not be reappointed. "I am pleased at the appointment," Bailes said. "It's a significant responsibility. I don't have an agenda, but I am very excited about the progress Marshall has made and I want to do my part to see it continue."

Dagostine is a division manager with Champion Industries in Huntington. He succeeds Gibson, who could not be reappointed. "I'm honored to have been appointed to the board," Dagostine said. "I just want to try to make the right decisions and help move Marshall University forward. Hopefully we can continue the progress we've made the past few years."

Kinsey is a financial adviser with Northwestern Mutual in Huntington. She succeeds Hess, who could not be reappointed. "I'm thrilled," Kinsey said of being chosen to serve on the board. "When asked if I would accept if asked, I jumped at the chance. It's a privilege. Marshall is very important to the community." Cline is a retired businessman and a consultant living in Huntington. He succeeds Farrell, who could not be reappointed. "I'm thankful to the governor for his having asked me to join. And I look forward to serving," Cline said.

Comments powered by Disqus