Marshall’s Safety Technology Program reaccredited through September 2016

Special to HNN Provided by Marshall University

HUNTINGTON, WV – Marshall University’s Bachelor of Science in Safety Technology Program has been reaccredited through Sept. 30, 2016 by the Applied Science Accreditation Commission (ASAC) of ABET, Inc.


Marshall submitted a Self-Study Report and the ASAC conducted a site visit Nov. 7-9, 2010. The findings of the ASAC resulted in the reaccreditation.


Dr. Allan Stern, chair of the Division of Applied Science and Technology, said being accredited by ABET is important to current and future Marshall students in the Safety Technology Program.


“The Safety Technology Program finds being accredited by ABET helps our students acquire meaningful professional career positions with nationally recognized companies regionally and nationally,” Stern said. “These companies seek graduates from accredited safety programs.  Being recognized as one of only seven colleges and universities having this specific accreditation helps in student recruitment.”


Pat Conlon, a professor in Safety Technology, helped prepare the Self-Study Report.


“We’re very pleased,” said Conlon, who noted that only 30 schools in the country have a B.S. in Safety Technology Program. “Our program is in good shape. The ABET criteria is a very good blueprint of the knowledge and skills needed in the safety industry. The ABET accreditation is a standard of excellence that our students, faculty, and alumni can be very proud of.”


The Safety Technology program is multi-disciplinary, with a focus on the application of science, law, management and psychology of accident prevention and worker health. The program’s goal is to prepare students to be competent safety professionals through a combination of academic, hands-on, industrial experience, combined with research by faculty and community involvement.


Enrollment in the program has steadily increased over the past five years. Current enrollment is 72 full-time and nine part-time students, which is approximately a 32 percent increase over enrollment during the last general review. The program faculty consists of five full-time members.


For more information, contact Stern at 304-696-3069 .

Comments powered by Disqus